County DFL chooses Nolan to run against Cravaack in 8th District

More than 100 Morrison County residents took part in the county’s DFL precinct caucus held at the Little Falls Community Middle School.

In the straw poll vote for a candidate in the 8th Congressional District to run against Republican Chip Cravaack,  the Morrison County caucus participants chose former Minnesota Senator Rick Nolan of Kerrick, with 51 votes. Jeff Anderson of Ely received 10 votes and former Minnesota Senator Tarryl Clark of St. Cloud received 6. Some participants remained undecided at this time and some chose not to participate in this vote.

President Barack Obama and Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar are not opposed by another DFL candidate.

Delegates and alternates chosen during the caucus will next meet during the county convention, scheduled for March 10.