Churchwell appointed as chair of Seventh District’s Ethics Committee

The Minnesota Supreme Court has appointed Long Prairie attorney Timothy M. Churchwell, as chair of the Seventh District Bar Association’s Ethics Committee. The Seventh District includes Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd and Wadena counties. Churchwell replaces Perham attorney, Steven R. Peloquin.

District Ethics Committees are established in each of the 21 district bar associations to investigate complaints of unethical conduct against Minnesota lawyers for the state Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board.

District Ethics Committee members are volunteer attorneys and public members. Complaints about a Minnesota lawyer’s professional conduct must be filed directly with the Office of the Director of Lawyers Professional Responsibility, 1500 Landmark Towers, 345 St. Peter Street, St. Paul, MN 55102-1218. These complaints are then referred to the appropriate District Ethics Committee for investigation and recommendation.