Tuesday is last day to file for state, county offices

Filings will close Tuesday, at 5 p.m. for those seeking a seat at the county or state level.

As of Thursday, those who have filed for office and are listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State Web site include:

U.S. representative, District 8: Incumbent Chip Cravaack, R-North Branch, Jeff Anderson, DFL-Duluth and Richard Nolan, DFL-Cross Lake.

State senator, District 9: GOP-endorsed candidate Paul Gazelka, Brainerd and DFL-endorsed candidate Al Doty, Royalton.

State representative, District 9B: GOP-endorsed candidate Ron Kresha, Little Falls and DFL-endorsed candidate Adrian Welle, Pierz. Incumbent Mike LeMieur, R-Little Falls, chose not to run for re-election after one term in office.

U.S. Senator: GOP-endorsed candidate Kurt Bills, Apple Valley; Dick Franson, DFL-Minneapolis and Jack Edward Shephard, DFL-St. Paul. Incumbent U.S. Sen. Democrat Amy Klobuchar had not yet filed as of Thursday, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State Web site.

Morrison County Commissioner, District 1: Sharon Ballou, Randall; Chuck Forss, Little Falls; Bob Harmsen, Cushing; Clint Kathrein, Little Falls and Kevin Maurer, Cushing. Incumbent Tom Wenzel is retiring at the end of this term, after nearly 20 years as a commissioner.

Morrison County Commissioner, District 2: Jeffrey J. Jelinski and incumbent Jeff Schilling, both of Little Falls.

Morrison County Commissioner, District 3: Incumbent Rich Collins of Little Falls and Randy H. Winscher of Royalton.

Morrison County Soil and Water Supervisor, District 1: William “Bill” Faber, Cushing.

Morrison County Soil and Water Supervisor, District 5: Cynthia R. Anez, Little Falls.

In Crow Wing County, Paul Koering of Fort Ripley, who served most of Morrison County as senator of District 12 form 2002-2010, has filed for the Commissioner District 1 seat in that county.

Candidates for municipal and school district offices will file between Tuesday, July 31 and Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Additional candidate filing information, forms and instructions are available on the office Web site at: www.sos.state.mn.us. Candidates for local offices should contact their county auditor, municipal clerk, or school clerk for additional information.