Commissioner District 1, DFL Congressional and statewide candidates face voters in Tuesday’s primary

By Liz Verley, Staff Writer

Tuesday, the polls will be open for voters to decide who will appear on the Nov. 6 general election ballots.

Only those positions that have more than one candidate from the same political party or the commissioner race for Morrison County District 1 will be placed on Tuesday’s ballot.

On the nonpartisan primary ballot voters in Commissioner District 1 have a list of six candidates vying for the position. They include: Sharon Ballou, Bob Harmsen, Robert Masog, Clint Kathrein, Kevin Maurer and Chuck Forss. The top two vote getters will be placed on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

On the partisan primary ballot two Independence Party, three Republican and four Democratic candidates will be narrowed down to one in each party for the U.S. Senate seats. Voters are permitted to vote for candidates of one political party only.

They include Independence candidates Stephen Williams and Glen R. Anderson Menze; Republican candidates David Carlson, Bob Carney Jr. and Kurt Bills and Democrat candidates incumbent Amy Klobuchar, Dick Franson and Darryl Stanton.

On the ballot for U.S. Representative District 8 will be Republican incumbent Chip Cravaack and Democrats Tarryl L. Clark, Jeff Anderson and Richard Nolan.

Voters in the District 15 state senate race vote for Republican Dave Brown or one of the Democrats, either Ron Thiessen or Sally Knox.

On the ballot for state representative in District 15B will be Republican Jim Newberger and Democrats Bruno S. Gad and Brian Johnson.

In Morrison County ballots have been sent out to the 19 townships and cities that vote by mail.

The rest of the polls will be open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m., with the exception of Lakin and Pulaski Townships which will open at 10 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.