Primary voters decide Ballou, Maurer to face off in County District 1 race

By Terry Lehrke, News Editor 

Tuesday, voters decided that of the six candidates who wanted to be commissioner in District 1, Sharon Ballou and Kevin Maurer will be the two on the ballot in November.

Maurer received 234 votes and Ballou 200. The voting came in as follows for the remaining candidates: Robert Masog – 188; Bob Harmsen – 186; Clint Kathrein – 109 and Chuck Forss – 77.

Incumbent U.S. Representative Chip Cravaack for the 8th District garnered 100 percent of the vote both state and county wide  with 18,682 votes and 1,163, respectively.

Both statewide and in Morrison County, voters chose DFLer Richard Nolan to run against Cravaack. Nolan received 20,258 votes (38.69 percent) statewide and in Morrison County received 709 votes, or 49.51 percent of the vote.

Democratic candidates for the 8th Congressional District, Tarryl Clark and Jeff Anderson, received 16,506 and 15,590 votes statewide, and 563 and 160 in Morrison County.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Democrat Amy Klobuchar also easily won her place on the ballot with 90.79 percent of the statewide vote (183,702). In Morrison County, Klobuchar received 86.20 percent of the vote with 1,274 votes.

Republican candidate Kurt Bills will challenge Klobuchar as he won over David Carlson and Bob Carney Jr. for his ballot position. Bills garnered  63,380 votes statewide (51.12 percent) and 475 votes in the county (45.41 percent).

The Independence Party will be represented on the ballot for U.S. Senate by Stephen Williams who won both state and county wide with 3,068 and 33 votes, respectively.

Morrison County voters who voted in the District 15 state senate race chose Republican Dave Brown who received 1,725 votes (100 percent) and Democrat Sally Knox 1,183 votes (62.56 percent), as the candidates they want to see on November’s ballot.

Republican Jim Newberger (100 percent  – 679 votes) and Democrat Brian Johnson (77.80 percent –  480 votes) will be on the ballot for state representative in District 15B.