The race is on in city, school board and township elections

Filing for city, township and school board offices closed Tuesday, finding many incumbents as well as challengers coming to the forefront.

In Little Falls, voters will have a number of candidates to consider in the three Wards.

Incumbent Loren Boyum will be challenged by Robin Hensel and Brent M. Wittwer for the Ward 1 seat.

In Ward 2, incumbent Urban Otremba will face challengers Theresa Skorseth and Greg Zylka.

Incumbent Frank Gosiak will run against three others for the Ward 3 seat, as Kathy M. Woitalla, Audreen “Ozzie” Wilczek Schwegman and Richard Berg, have all filed.

Those who have filed for seats on other City Councils in Morrison County include:

Bowlus — Although no one filed for the mayor’s seat, Joe Larson, Paul Rudolph, John Tchida and Theresa Trettel filed for two City Council seats. Robert Maciej filed for a two-year seat.

Buckman — Jeff Dingmann filed for a Council seat, however no one came forth to file for the mayor’s seat.

Elmdale — Filings had not yet been reported to Morrison County as of Friday.

Flensburg — Incumbents LuAnn Morrow and Michael Zupko filed for two of the four seats open on the Council. No one filed for the seat of mayor.

Genola — Incumbent Mayor Larry Korf and incumbents Tim O’Neil and Chuck Storkamp have all filed for four-year terms.

Harding — Incumbent David C. Hayes has filed for a four-year term on the Council and Tracy Ebertowski filed for the City Clerk position.

Hillman — Incumbent Mayor Norman Iverson, incumbent Rita Iverson and Larry Okroi have all filed for four-year terms.

Lastrup — Incumbents Mayor Kay Hoheisel, Councilman Ross Shoultz and Treasurer Diane Schmidtz, all refiled for their seats.

Motley — Incumbent Mayor Nancy Nieken filed for re-election and incumbents Steve Johnson and Duane Solga, Keith Jares, Bob Jenkins and Pat O’Regan filed for two Council seats.

Pierz — Incumbent Toby Egan is running unopposed for the two-year term as mayor. Brittany Wurzer and Matt Bell are running for the four-year clerk seat on the Council and Don Bujalski seeks a four-year seat on the Council as well. Adrian Welle and Mary Korf will not run for re-election.

Randall — Incumbents Jerry Carter and Ricky Turner will again run for four-year terms on the Randall City Council. Incumbent Mayor Bob Riitters will also seek re-election.

Royalton — Incumbents Ron Verley and Ed Zimny will seek four-year terms, and Scott Walberg and Brandi Blais will seek the two-year vacated seat.

Sobieski — Incumbent Mayor Ronald Druzel is seeking re-election, as in incumbent clerk Joyce Holtz. Incumbents James Sobiech and Judith Hennes, as well as Timothy Opatz and Dori Olson will campaign for two council seats.

Swanville — Incumbent Sandy Peterson has filed for mayor, a four-year term.

Upsala — Incumbent Mayor Rollie Johnson will be challenged by Joan Olson. Robert Maciej has filed for a four-year Council seat. Another seat is open, so write-in voters will determine who will fill that seat.

School Boards

Those who have filed for local school board director seats include:

Little Falls — Incumbents Jay Spillum and Cathy Adamek, along with Gerald Knafla, Dan Noss, Todd Kosovich, Mike LeMieur, Lisa Lintner and Sandi Stalmer will vie for three seats on the Board.

Royalton — Incumbent Michelle Carlson and Liz Verley filed for four-year terms, however one open slot remains.

Pierz — Incumbents Mike Wilson, Steve Boser and Joanne Broschofsky have all refiled for their four-year terms.

Pillager — Douglas Barnett, Stacey Berent, Scott J. Eastman, Shawn M. Hunstad, Dennis Loucks and Scott M. Mudgett.

Staples Motley—Incumbents Paul Anderson and Chad Longbella and Bryan Winkels.

Swanville — Incumbents Kathy Beckman, Chris Kircher and Jeff Opelia, as well as Tony Johnson.

Upsala — Incumbent Marvin Wensmann and Karin Nelson and Matthew Ripplinger.


Those townships that reported filings for supervisor and clerk seats to Morrison County as of Thursday, include:

Morrill — Robert Stuckmayer for Seat C and Joan Nichols for clerk.

Mount Morris — Ronald J. Meyer for the Seat C and Tammie Gotvald for clerk.

Pierz — Dean Rocheleau filed for Seat C and no one filed for the clerk seat.

Pulaski — LeRoy Knopik filed for Seat A; Allen Woitalla for Seat B and Lynn Donek for town treasurer.

Richardson — Mark Johnson filed for Seat A and Cheryl Lincoln for clerk.

Rosing — Joe Klein filed for the special election for Seat A, Gary Jay Rassler filed for Seat C and Amy Walker for clerk/treasurer.

Scandia Valley — Incumbents Dale Borgstrom and Mike Rosvold and Ian Newkirk for supervisor seats and Kathie Headley for clerk.