To the Editor:
The Star Tribune published an article titled “This old house gets new lease on life, but others slip into history,” in the Sept. 18 edition. The Shaw – Hammons home was built in 1852, preceding Minnesota statehood and was listed on the National Register of Historic places and Minnesota’s “Ten Most Endangered Properties.”
One year ago, this city lost one of its priceless gems. The Friends of the the Dewey- Radke spent countless hours over three years refurbishing the 118-year-old jewel. The lovely, one-of-a-kind landmark was destroyed in record speed.
National public outcry began when the home’s existence was threatened. It was such a landmark that, after its demolition, commemorative mugs were sold at the Weyerhaeuser Museum.
On Feb. 22, 2011, a motion was made and voted on, to sever the agreement with Friends of Dewey-Radke, in preparation for the demolition. Ayes: VanRisseghem, Gosiak, Otremba, Doucette, Klinker, Hanfler, Boyum. Nays: Crowder. Another vote was taken Aug. 15, 2011 to demolish the Dewey-Radke home. Ayes: VanRisseghem, Otremba, Doucette, Klinker, Hanfler, Boyum. Gosiak was absent, so his vote counted as a nay. Nays: Crowder.
The indifference of the Little Falls City officials will long be remembered. — Ginny Given, Little Falls