Cross Country: Holdingford’s Merten captures girls CMC championship, Royalton’s Carlson earns second in boys race

Sports Editor
[email protected]

To view more photos from Tuesday’s CMC meet, visit The Record’s online gallery via this link

The lead pack nears the one-mile mark of Tuesday’s Central Minnesota Conference meet in Pierz. Pictured are (from left): Royalton sophomore Zachary Carlson, Pierz sophomore Kyle Becker, Holdingford senior Ryan Hartung and sophomores Andrew Zachman and Abe Skwira and St. John’s Prep senior Seo Taek Kong.

The Holdingford boys and girls cross country teams each finished as the runner-up at Tuesday’s Central Minnesota Conference (CMC) meet in Pierz, with the girls two points back and the boys three points out.

Royalton sophomore Zachary Carlson crossed the line second overall in the boys race in 17:08.3 and Holdingford eighth-grader Jo Merten captured the girls individual championship in 15:59.8.


Boys results

Sophomores Andrew Zachman (17:28.5) and Abe Skwira (17:43.2) and senior Ryan Hartung (17:45.2) placed in the top seven to earn All-CMC honors and lead Holdingford, trailed by sophomore Jacob Thell (18:48.4), freshman Marcus Rick (19:00.7), junior Nick Hiltner (19:27.7) and sophomore Zach Ryan (19:35.3).

Following Carlson for the fourth-place Royalton boys was fellow All-CMC sophomore Tremayne Collins in fifth place in 17:37.6.

Pierz senior Megan Hoheisel, left, and sophomore Maggie Gruber charge down the stretch at Tuesday’s Central Minnesota Conference meet. Hoheisel placed 11th and Gruber took 12th to earn honorable mention honors.

Freshman Ben Borash earned honorable mention recognition with a 14th-place effort of 18:30.9, with senior Stephen Strusz (18:44.9) and eighth-graders Jordan Malikowski (21:10.3) and Thomas Strusz (23:29.1) rounding out the Royalton lineup.

Sophomore Kyle Becker attained All-CMC distinction with a ninth-place time of 17:55.9 to pace Pierz to sixth place.

Senior Will Corbett (18:58.1) was next across the line for the Pioneers, followed by freshman Matt Janson (20:30.4), senior Elias Schomer (21:12.3), sophomore Daniel Tautges (21:18.1) and senior Mitchell Czech (22:43.8).


Girls results

Holdingford freshman Alli Ruprecht finished on the heels of Merten in second place in 16:04.6, with junior Abby Mokhtary placing sixth in 17:11.1 and eighth-grader Angel Rick taking eighth in 17:20.1 to also earn All-CMC honors.

Holdingford freshman Alli Ruprecht, left, and eighth-grader Jo Merten speed away from the rest of the field at Tuesday’s Central Minnesota Conference meet. Merten won the individual title in 15:59.8 and Ruprecht was the runner-up in 16:04.6 to lead the Huskers girls to second place.

Senior Kaitlin Preusser (18:01.7) and eighth-graders Amanda Douvier (18:37.3) and Sommer Davidson (18:39.2) capped the lineup for the Huskers.

Pierz edged Eden Valley-Watkins/Kimball Area on a tiebreaker to earn third place, led by the honorable mention trio of senior Megan Hoheisel (17:36.9) and sophomores Maggie Gruber (17:37.7) and Arre Langer (17:43.8).

Eighth-grader Emma Hoheisel (18:00.9) and sophomore Dana Hennen (18:50.6) also scored for the Pioneers, trailed by eighth-grader Lillian Guck (19:03.7) and senior Beth Broschofsky (24:02.7).

Freshman Madi Rudolph paced Royalton to a sixth-place showing with a 27th-place individual finish in 18:59.8.

Following Rudolph for the Royals were sophomore Maddie Block (19:36.4), junior Ciara Kowalczyk (20:15.8), sophomore Jenna Trutwin (20:54.8), Amy Zabinski (21:10.4) and senior Bridgette Storkamp (30:01.1).

Royalton and Holdingford compete at the Section 6A meet at New London-Spicer and Pierz hosts the Section 5A meet, Thursday, Oct. 25.


Central Minnesota Conference meet

Boys team— 1. Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, 59; 2. Holdingford, 62; 3. Maple Lake, 78; 4. Royalton, 83. 5. Rockford Area, 85; 6. Pierz, 155; 7. St. John’s Prep, 166; 8. Eden Valley-Watkins/Kimball Area, 224.

Medalist—Connor Schank, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, 17:00.1.

Holdingford—4. Andrew Zachman, 17:28.5; 6. Abe Skwira, 17:43.2; 7. Ryan Hartung, 17:45.2; 21. Jacob Thell, 18:48.4; 24. Marcus Rick, 19:00.7; 27. Nick Hiltner, 19:27.7; 30. Zach Ryan, 19:35.3.

Royalton—2. Zachary Carlson, 17:08.3; 5. Tremayne Collins, 17:37.6; 14. Ben Borash, 18:30.9; 20. Stephen Strusz, 18:44.9; 42. Jordan Malikowski, 21:10.3; 49. Thomas Strusz, 23:29.1.

Pierz—9. Kyle Becker, 17:55.9; 22. Will Corbett, 18:58.1; 37. Matt Janson, 20:30.4; 43. Elias Schomer, 21:12.3; 44. Daniel Tautges, 21:18.1; 48. Mitchell Czech, 22:43.8.

Girls team—1. Maple Lake, 33; 2. Holdingford, 35; 3. Pierz, 78; 4. Eden Valley-Watkins/Kimball Area, 78; 5. St. John’s Prep, 140; 6. Royalton, 179; 7. Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, 186.

Medalist—Jo Merten, Holdingford, 15:59.8.

Holdingford—1. Merten, 15:59.8; 2. Alli Ruprecht, 16:04.6; 6. Abby Mokhtary, 17:11.1; 8. Angel Rick, 17:20.1; 18. Kaitlin Preusser, 18:01.7; 22. Amanda Douvier, 18:37.3; 23. Sommer Davidson, 18:39.2.

Pierz—11. Megan Hoheisel, 17:36.9; 12. Maggie Gruber, 17:37.7; 14. Arre Langer, 17:43.8; 17. Emma Hoheisel, 18:00.9; 24. Dana Hennen, 18:50.6; 29. Lillian Guck, 19:03.7; 49. Beth Broschofsky, 24:02.7.

Royalton—27. Madi Rudolph, 18:59.8; 34. Maddie Block, 19:36.4; 41. Ciara Kowalczyk, 20:15.8; 45. Jenna Trutwin, 20:54.8; 46. Amy Zabinski, 21:10.4; 51. Bridgette Storkamp, 30:01.1.