Two legislative recounts possible for Minnesota

Minnesota Secretary of State Ritchie announced today (Nov. 7) the possibility of two automatic legislative recounts.  One in House District 8B (Alexandria area) and the other in Senate District 20 (Northfield area).

“Minnesotans are anxious to know who will represent them, but they also want to be sure that all ballots are properly counted,” said Ritchie. “This office, working together with our county partners and the candidates, will complete any recounts as quickly as possible after the canvassing board determines a recount is required with complete accuracy and transparency.”

The State Canvassing Board will meet at 1 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 27, in Room 10 of the State Office Building located at 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota.

After the Board meets, a location for the legislative recounts will be chosen and the ballots will be recounted within several days.

Minnesota Statutes 204C.31 requires the Secretary of State to select the members of state canvassing board. The State Canvassing Board consists of Secretary of State Ritchie, two Minnesota Supreme Court justices, and two Minnesota district court judges.  Members of the 2012 State Canvassing Board include:

• The Honorable Mark Ritchie, Minnesota Secretary of State;

• The Honorable Paul H. Anderson, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court;

• The Honorable Christopher J. Dietzen, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court;

• The Honorable Edward I. Lynch, Chief Judge, First Judicial District; and

• The Honorable Karen J. Asphaug, District Court Judge, First Judicial District