Wrestling: Holdingford returns 11 starters, eyes section crown

Sports Editor
[email protected]

The eighth-ranked Holdingford wrestling team brings back 11 starters, including three state entrants, from last year’s team that finished as the Section 7A runner-up.

Leading the group will be sophomore Zach Scott, who placed sixth at state, and section champion juniors Kyle Gerads and Mitch Messman.

Also coming back with starting experience are seniors Kyle Kolstad, Jason Jarnot and Trevor Scott, juniors Mitch Merten and Malcolm Dewar, sophomores Jake Knettel and Nathan Brinker and freshman Clem Gerads.

Others looking to fill holes and contend for varsity spots are senior Bryan Scepaniak, sophomores Jamey Koetter, Andrew Zachman, Tazz Taflinger, Taylor Nitz and Weston Lumley and freshmen Ryan Skroch and Logan Storm.

“We hope to compete for both the conference and section title,” Holdingford head coach Adam Johnson said. “We think it’s possible to send six or more individuals to state.”

Graduating from last year’s team were Mike Jarnot and Galen Piwowar.