2013 Morrison County Record All-Area Boys Basketball Team


Christian Pekarek, junior, Upsala

Pekarek, the Record Player of the Year, directed the attack for Upsala as it won its first 31 games en route to a fourth-place finish at state, garnering the Prairie Conference MVP Award. Pekarek put up 23.6 points per game while also averaging 4.6 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 3.2 steals.



Collin Eckman, senior, Little Falls

Eckman proved to be the all-around spark plug Little Falls needed to claim its first Granite Ridge Conference championship this winter, powering the Flyers with 17.4 points, 4.1 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 1.2 steals per game.



Luke Wentland, senior, Royalton

Wentland once again battled through a string of injuries to bolster the Royals’ offense by scoring from all spots on the floor. He made his third All-Prairie Conference team this winter, averaging 14.9 points and 8.0 rebounds while crossing the 1,000-point marker.



Jordan Sales, sophomore, Swanville

Swanville’s veteran roster found itself in the thick of every game in the rigorous Prairie Conference due in large part to the efforts of the sophomore Sales. Sales provided 15.9 points, 8.0 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 2.1 steals and 2.0 blocks per game in the Bulldogs’ 15-8 season.



Avery Smieja, senior, Upsala

The 6’6’’ Smieja was a towering presence on the Cardinals’ fourth-place state team this winter, overwhelming smaller centers with 10.9 points, 9.0 rebounds and 2.6 blocks per game to help lead Upsala to a 31-2 record.


Honorable mention

Spencer Lubbers, senior, Little Falls

Jake Scott, senior, Little Falls

Troy Scott, junior, Little Falls

Mitch Bednar, senior, Pierz

Cullin Carter, senior, Pierz

Tren Dinius, senior, Swanville

Austin Mollner, senior, Swanville

Garrett Wolf, senior, Upsala

Dylan Zimmerman, junior, Upsala

Jeremy Springer, junior, Holdingford