Governor appoints Raupp to fill Seventh Judicial District vacancy

Robert J. Raupp
Robert J. Raupp

Gov. Mark Dayton appointed Robert J. Raupp as district court judge in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District. Other candidates for consideration included Morrison County Assistant Attorney Todd Kosovich and Shan Wang, the assistant chief of the Criminal Division in the Stearns County Attorney’s office.

Raupp will replace the Honorable James W. Hoolihan, who has retired. The judgeship will be chambered at Foley in Benton County.

“Throughout his career, Robert Raupp has demonstrated a steadfast commitment to public service,” Dayton said. “His professional experience has prepared him well for success as District Court Judge. I have the utmost confidence in Mr. Raupp’s ability to serve the people of the Seventh District with integrity and distinction.”

Raupp is the Benton County Attorney, where he represents the state in felony prosecutions and provides legal advice to the County Board of Commissioners. Previously, he worked in the Benton County Attorney’s Office as the First Assistant County Attorney and Assistant County Attorney, and, prior to that, was an Assistant City Attorney for the City of Minneapolis. Mr. Raupp earned his B.S. from the University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh and his J.D. from the Hamline University School of Law.

Raupp is the current chair of the Central Minnesota Violent Offender Task Force Board of Directors and president of the Benton County Law Library Board. Additionally, he is an active member of the Sauk Rapids Lions Club and the Adopt-a-River Program.

He resides in Sauk Rapids with his family.

Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District consists of Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd and Wadena counties.