Victory League: Lastrup, Sobieski clinch regular season division titles

Victory League baseball scores from June 26 – 30:

Buckman 7, Harding 1

                Shawn Lanners went 4-for-5 with two doubles and a homer and Jeremy Monson tossed a complete game to lead Buckman past host Harding 7-1.

Lanners also collected four RBIs and scored three times, while Mitch Dorn and Josh Boser had multi-hit games for Harding.


Freeport 9, Holdingford 1

                Holdingford scored the opening run, but Freeport came back to score the final nine as the Black Sox earned a 9-1 home win.

Eric Evaslage went 3-for-5 with three RBIs and two runs for Freeport.


Fort Ripley 6, Avon 5

                Fort Ripley rallied from a 5-3 deficit in the eighth inning to overtake visiting Avon 6-5.

After an injury knocked starter Brett Kramer after the first inning, Bill Sather worked the final eight innings to record the win.

Brad Waytashek and Kramer each had multi-hit games for the Rebels.


Freeport 7, Opole 5

                Host Freeport rattled off its fourth consecutive win, defeating Opole 7-5.

Josh Vorpahl struck out six batters in three innings of no-hit relief to earn the win for the Black Sox.


Nisswa 21, Opole 3

                Nisswa scored 21 runs on 25 hits and six home runs in a 21-3 rout over visiting Opole.

Drew Boland went deep twice, with Tyler Wittwer, Bronson Shepherd, Morgan Shepherd and Aaron Jenkins also homering for the Lightning.


Randall 5, Pierz Brewers 1

                Kyle Peterschick struck out six in a complete-game effort as host Randall defeated the Pierz Brewers 5-1.

Dusty Parker went 3-for-5 and knocked in a pair of runs to pace the Cubs.

Eric Boser and Jerron Boser recorded two hits apiece for the Brewers.


St. Mathias 10, Holdingford 0

                Bill Aamodt tossed a two-hit shutout, striking out 10, as host St. Mathias blanked Holdingford 10-0.

Josh Haberman doubled twice and Jordan Hunstad scored three times for St. Mathias.


St. Stephen 7, St. Wendel 3

                Travis Phelps roped four hits and scored twice as host St. Stephen defeated St. Wendel 7-3.

Lee Maciej homered and knocked in two runs for St. Wendel.


Upsala 8, Royalton 7

                Royalton scored four runs in the ninth, but Upsala held on for a narrow 8-7 home win behind seven strong innings from starter John Fuchs, who struck out seven.

Brady Burggraff went 3-for-4 with a pair of runs for Upsala, with Adam Gerads, Justin Lampert and Brock Cichon adding two hits apiece.

Cade Stang went 3-for-4 with two runs and Adam Yourczek drove home two for Royalton.


Flensburg 12-3, Randall 11-2

                Flensburg completed a wild 12-11, 3-2 doubleheader sweep over visiting Randall, highlighted by an 11-run rally in game one.

Randall seized a seemingly insurmountable lead with an 11-run fourth inning to go ahead 11-0 in the opener, but Flensburg closed the gap to one with seven in the fifth and three in the eighth, then capped the dramatic rally with two runs in the ninth.

Tony Arnold and Bryan Majerus each went 4-for-6 for the Falcons, with Arnold driving in the game-winning run.

Ricky Drew hit a grand slam for Randall.

Paul Krebs struck out 10 in a complete-game win for Flensburg in game two, with Gabe Ploof collecting three hits.

Matt Otremba doubled and scored both of Randall’s runs.


Pierz Bulldogs 4, Harding 1

                Paul Herman went 4-for-5 and earned the win on the mound to lead the visiting Pierz Bulldogs to a 4-1 win over Harding.

Craig Luberts and Andy Leidenfrost also had multi-hit games for the Bulldogs, with Pete Herman tossing three scoreless innings to record the save.


Lastrup 6, Pierz Bulldogs 0

                Scott Janson tossed a three-hit shutout as Lastrup blanked the visiting Pierz Bulldogs 6-0 and clinched the East Division regular season championship.

Jason Sadlovsky went 3-for-4 with a homer, four RBIs and two runs for Lastrup, with Nate Janson, Brandon Lochner and Bob Pohlkamp each putting together multi-hit games.


Nisswa 19, Cuyuna Range 1

                Less than 24 hours after scoring 21 runs against Opole, Nisswa nearly matched the feat in a 19-2 demolition over visiting Cuyuna Range.

Adam Hardy went 3-for-4 with a double and four runs for the Lightning, with Jason Roepke and Tyler Wittwer homering.


Fort Ripley 7, Nisswa 4

                Fort Ripley gained sole possession of first place in the North Division with a 7-4 victory at Nisswa, led by a complete-game effort from starter Logan Kalis.

Nick Jelacie laced four hits and Brett Kramer doubled, homered and drove in three runs.

Jason Roepke homered for Nisswa.


Lastrup 9, Pierz Brewers 8

                Lastrup overcame an early 6-0 deficit to knock off the host Pierz Brewers 9-8 in 10 innings to complete a perfect weekend for the Lakers.

Brandon Lochner went 3-for-6 with two RBIs and two runs, including the go-ahead run in the top of the 10th for the Lakers on a double by Rick Schlieman.

Logan Meyer tallied four hits for Pierz, with Mike Weber and Jerron Boser each collecting three hits.


Avon 5, St. Stephen 4

                Avon capitalized on a five-error second inning to tally all five of its runs and upend host St. Stephen 5-4.

Taylor Holthaus had three hits for Avon, with Ben Omann hitting a homer and driving in two runs for St. Stephen.


St. Wendel 8, Holdingford 1

                Ben Schwanberg went 3-for-3 with two runs and two RBIs as host St. Wendel topped Holdingford 8-1.

Lee Maciej and John Pogatchnik added home runs for the Saints.


Upsala 1, Sobieski 0

                Upsala blanked visiting Sobieski 1-0 in the regular season finale, but Sobieski gained the West Division regular season title by virtue of most runs scored in head-to-head competition.

Ben Burggraff broke up the no-hitter and scoreless tie with an eighth-inning homer for Upsala, with Matt Swanson firing a four-hit shutout.