Victory League: Lastrup, Avon ride aces into second round of state

Sports Editor
[email protected]

Lastrup and Avon rode the strength of their aces into the second round of the Class C state amateur baseball tournament, while Upsala’s first trip to state ended with a 4-1 defeat. Sobieski also moved on to the second round by virtue of a bye as the Region 8C champion.

Lastrup took advantage of a pair of early defensive miscues to score three runs in the opening two frames, all it would get and need in a 3-1 victory over Raymond at Maple Lake, Saturday.

Chad Weiss, winner of three state tournament games a year ago, tossed a complete-game seven-hitter, striking out four, while also adding two hits and a run at the plate.

Brandon Lochner led the Lakers with a 3-for-4 game, with Nate Janson collecting two hits and a run.

Kyle Collins, who also won three games on the mound in last year’s tournament, including a no-hitter, led Avon to a 3-0 win over Richmond at Delano, Friday, pitching six shutout innings.

Josh Vorpahl worked the final three innings for the save, with Reed Voit, Taylor Holthaus and Scott Litchy providing the offensive firepower with multi-hit games.

Upsala couldn’t find the same fortune in its state tournament debut, done in by a three-run third off of just one hit delivered by Midway in a 4-1 defeat at Delano, Saturday.

After Midway pushed the gap to 4-0 with a run in the fifth, Upsala managed to get on the board as John Fuchs singled home Brady Burggraff in the seventh, but was unable to pull any closer.

In the second round, Sobieski was scheduled to play Elrosa and Avon was scheduled to play Cannon Falls, Saturday, Aug. 24, with Lastrup slated to take on Moorhead, Sunday, Aug. 25.