MC Record All-Area Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams

The 2013 Morrison Country Record All-Area Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams:


Andrew Zachman, junior, Holdingford

Zachman, the Morrison County Record Boys Runner of the Year, had already competed in a state meet by the time the season started, but hadn’t made nearly the mark on the region’s distance running as he would by the end of the fall, winning the Central Minnesota Conference meet by more than half a minute before taking eighth place in Class A in 16:20.7 to garner all-state distinction.


Abe Skwira, junior, Holdingford

Skwira teamed up with Zachman to form a dynamic duo for the Huskers once again, finishing as the runner-up as the tandem finished one-two at the Central Conference meet, followed by qualifying for his second state meet in a row, where he placed 28th overall in Class A in 16:59.8.


Mathew Massmann, senior, Little Falls

Massmann was one of the anchors for the Flyers throughout his senior season, consistently running near the front of the pack in big meets. Massmann secured All-Granite Ridge Conference honors with a sixth-place finish while also leading Little Falls at the Section 8AA meet with a 17th-place time of 17:35.2.


Sebastian Sowada, senior, Little Falls

The leading runner on Little Falls’ first-ever Granite Ridge Conference champion team, Sowada was a key force for the Flyers throughout the fall. Sowada took third place to earn all-conference honors with a time of 17:19 as Little Falls breezed past ranked opponents in St. Cloud Cathedral and Mora.


Cameron Smith, senior, Little Falls

Smith took another big step forward for Little Falls this fall, proving to be a reliable contributor near the front of the pack for a team beset by injuries. One of Smith’s biggest performances was turned in at the conference meet, earning All-Granite Ridge honors with a fifth-place finish in 17:30, while he also placed 18th in the Section 8AA meet to conclude the season.




Emily Wolter, junior, Holdingford

Wolter, the Morrison County Record Girls Runner of the Year, provided stability to a Huskers team that experienced a variety of injuries, helping Holdingford secure a Central Minnesota Conference championship and clinching a third trip to the state meet in a row this fall. At state, Wolter placed 63rd overall in 16:02.4 in Class A.


Abby Mokhtary, senior, Holdingford

One of the Huskers’ most clutch runners throughout her career, Mokhtary helped seal the team’s third consecutive trip to the meet with one of her all-time best performances at the Section 6A meet, placing 12th in 16:00 to cross the line first for Holdingford. Mokhtary also earned All-Central Minnesota Conference distinction by taking sixth overall.


Jo Merten, freshman, Holdingford

Only a freshman, Merten is already a perfect three-for-three competing in state meets during her career as a steadying presence for Holdingford. Merten was also the top finisher for the Central Minnesota Conference champion Huskers, taking fourth individually in 16:25.17.


Heidi Moe, junior, Little Falls

A beacon of consistency, Moe provided a sterling veteran presence for a youthful Little Falls lineup that captured runner-up honors in the Granite Ridge Conference. Moe was one of four Flyers to lead the team in various meets this fall, taking 20th in the conference meet and clocking a time of 17:01.8 at sections.


Sophia Sowada, eighth-grader, Little Falls

Sowada crammed a huge impact into only half a season of varsity action for the Flyers, sprinting onto the scene midway through the fall to become one of Little Falls’ top runners. Sowada sparked a runner-up finish for the Flyers in the Granite Ridge Conference meet, taking seventh individually in 16:29.


Boys Honorable mention

Daniel Mushel, senior, Little Falls

Josh Kapsner, junior, Little Falls

Tyler Moore, freshman, Little Falls

Hunter Zupko, eighth-grader, Little Falls

Kyle Becker, junior, Pierz

Zach Carlson, junior, Royalton

Tremayne Collins, junior, Royalton

Ben Borash, sophomore, Royalton

Nick Hiltner, senior, Holdingford

Marcus Rick, sophomore, Holdingford


Girls Honorable mention

Amelia Kresha, sophomore, Little Falls

Kendal Hendrickson, freshman, Little Falls

Annika Bjorge, eighth-grader, Little Falls

Anna McNamara, eighth-grader, Little Falls

Catherine Zack, eighth-grader, Little Falls

Maggie Gruber, junior, Pierz

Emma Hoheisel, freshman, Royalton

Sunni Ebnet, sophomore, Holdingford

Rachael Preusser, sophomore, Holdingford

Alli Ruprecht, freshman, Holdingford