2014 MC Record All-Area Boys Basketball Team


Christian Pekarek, senior, Upsala

Pekarek, the Record Player of the Year for the second season in a row, was a match-up nightmare for opposing defenses, thriving offensively with his perimeter shooting and ability to score at the rim, surpassing 2,000 career points this winter. Pekarek led the Cardinals to a second-consecutive unbeaten Prairie Conference record this year, averaging 29.1 points, 4.7 rebounds, 4.7 steals and 4.6 assists per game.




Sebastian Sowada, senior, Little Falls

The sharp-shooting Sowada played a vital role for the Flyers on both sides of the ball this winter, earning him a spot on the All-Granite Ridge Conference first team. Sowada’s perimeter shooting netted him 12.4 points per game while he also demonstrated an uncanny knack for guards as a rebounder with 5.0 per game. He also contributed 1.6 assists and 1.4 steals a contest.




Dylan Zimmerman, senior, Upsala

Zimmerman used a devastating combination of size and ability to slash the lane to give the Prairie Conference champion Cardinals a potent one-two scoring punch. Along with his 19.5 points per game, though, Zimmerman also hauled in 10.2 rebounds per game to average a double-double on the year, while also distributing 4.1 assists a night and picking up more than a steal a game.




Bryce Zawatzke, junior, Little Falls

Although not possessing the height of many opposing teams’ big men, Zawatzke more than made up for it by outmuscling them on both sides of the ball. The Flyers’ forward dominated down low with 13.1 points and 8.7 rebounds per game this winter, while also adding 2.0 assists, 1.1 steals and half a block a game.




Jordan Sales, junior, Swanville

Sales continued to assert himself as one of the premier all-around centers in the area with another standout season in the paint, leading the Bulldogs to a second-consecutive winning season. Sales nearly averaged a double-double on the year, putting up 18.3 points and 9.1 rebounds per game while also averaging 2.4 steals, 2.3 assists and 2.2 blocks per contest.


Honorable mention

Mark Hanowski, senior, Little Falls

Thomas Bell, junior, Little Falls

Robbie Skiba, junior, Pierz

Aaron Weber, sophomore, Pierz

Ben Borash, sophomore, Royalton

Cody Mollner, senior, Swanville

Tyler Evans, junior, Swanville

Jeremy Halverson, junior, Upsala

Aidan Guthrie, junior, Upsala

Jeremy Springer, senior, Holdingford