Doty files for House 9B; Lowe, Storck and Giuliani for county auditor/treasurer

On the last day of filing, Rep. Ron Kresha, R-Little Falls, has a challenger in former Rep. Al Doty.  Debora L. Lowe and Ashley Storck of Little Falls and Tammy Giuliani of Pierz, filed June 3 for the county’s auditor/treasurer seat being vacated by a retiring Russ Nygren.

In addition, Mike Wilson has joined Jim Andres and Ron Rinkel in the race for the District 4 county commissioner seat. Incumbent Don Meyer said he will not run for re-election.

Others who filed as of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 3, include incumbent Judge Conrad Freeberg for his seat in 7th District Court; incumbent County Commissioner Duane Johnson for re-election in District 5; Eileen Holtberg for county recorder; Shawn D. Larsen, Dan Rocheleau, Charles T. Strack and Thomas Justin, all for Morrison County Sheriff; incumbent Morrison County Attorney Brian Middendorf for his position; Soil and Water Conservation District 3 Supervisor incumbent Claude Dahmen will be challenged by George Sandy III and District 4 Supervisor Marvin Stangl filed for re-election.

Incumbent Democrat Rick Nolan has filed to run for re-election in U.S. Representative District 8, and will be challenged by Republican Stewart Mills and Independence Party candidate Eric G. Meyer.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Democratic Al Franken will rerun for his seat. He will be challenged Independence Party candidates Tom Books, Steve Carlson, Jack Shepard, Kevin Terrell and Stephen Williams; Republicans Mike McFaddern, Patrick Munro, Julianne Ortman and O. Savior and Democrat Sandra Henningsgard.

Those who will be campaigning against Incumbent Governor Democrat Mark Dayton (Lt. Gov. Tina Smith), include Independence Party candidate Hannah Nicollet (Tim Gieseke); Republicans Merrill Anderson (Mark Anderson), Scott Honour (Karin Housley), Jeff Johnson (Bill Kuisle), Marty Seifert (Pam Myhra), Kurt Zellers (Dean Simpson) and Democrats Bill Dahn (James Vigloiotti) and Leslie Davis (Gregory K. Soderberg).

Candidates for Secretary of State are Independence Party candidates Bob Helland and David Singleton; Republicans John Howe and Dan Severson and Democrats Dick Franson, Gregg Iverson and Steve Simon.

Patrick Dean (Independence), Randy Gilbert (GOP) and incumbent Rebecca Otto (DFL) have filed for state auditor.

For attorney general, Brand Borgos (I), Sharon Anderson and Scott Newman (GOP), incumbent Lori Swanson (DFL) have filed.

Filing for other municipal and school district offices will be held Tuesday, July 29 – Tuesday, Aug. 12.

Tuesday, Aug. 12, is Primary Election Day and Tuesday, Nov. 4, is General Election Day.