Filings close today for candidates for county offices; no one files for county auditor/treasurer, yet

Candidate filings for those seeking election for federal, state legislative, executive and judicial offices, will close today Tuesday, June 3.

So far, incumbent State Rep. Ron Kresha, R-Little Falls, filed for re-election in District 9B and the Morrison County DFL has endorsed Al Doty to run against him.

Incumbent Judge Conrad Freeberg filed for re-election to his seat in 7th District Court.

In the county commissioner race, Jim Andres and Ron Rinkel filed for the County Commissioner seat in District 4, to fill the position being vacated by retiring incumbent Don Meyer, Incumbent Commissioner Duane Johnson filed for re-election to represent District 5.

No one has filed for the seat of auditor/treasurer being vacated by retiring incumbent Russ Nygren, and Eileen Holtberg filed for election as county recorder.

Four have filed for the Morrison County Sheriff’s seat, including Shawn D. Larsen, Dan Rocheleau, Charles T. Strack and Thomas Justin.

Incumbent Morrison County Attorney Brian Middendorf filed for re-election.

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor incumbents Claude Dahmen (District 3) and Marvin Stangl (District 4) filed for re-election. George Sandy III has filed for the District 3 Soil and Water Supervisor seat as well.

  • tmac

    What happens if no one files for the auditor/treasurer position?

  • Peter Vogel

    Either a write in candidate wins the position or if there is no write in candidate, the County Board fills the vacancy by appointment.

    • tmac