Candidates file for city, township and school board races

The filing period  for local school board and municipal offices ended Aug. 12.

Three school board seats for four-year terms will open in each of the following school districts: Upsala, Pierz, Little Falls, Swanville and Royalton.

Those filing for a seat on area school boards include:

Royalton incumbents Jeff Swenson, Dale Lenz and Jim Block have filed for re-election. Newcomers Randy Hackett and Heather Harren have also filed. Royalton has four seats open, three for four-year terms and one for two years, as Jeff Swenson was appointed by the board for a two-year term.

In Little Falls School District 482, three board members filed for re-election, including Sharon Ballou, Mark Gerbi and Brad Laager. Sandi Stalmer also filed.

In Pierz School District 484, incumbents Colleen Seelen, Patty Stangl and Dean Virnig filed for re-election.

Upsala School Board incumbent Dean Peterson filed for re-election, as did newcomers Ryan Thomas and Trevor Soltis.

In Swanville, the seats held by Jay Loven, Todd Jackson and Rick Gutormson expire. Loven and Jackson filed for re-election, but Gutormson did not.

City Council seats
Those who filed for city seats in Morrison County include:

•Bowlus: No one filed for the seat held by  George Trettel; Council Member Mary Lange did not file for re-election, but Clerk Robert J. Maciej did. Others filing for a Bowlus Council seat include Elisha Marie Borst, Joe J. Sobania and Jessy Lodermeier for city treasurer.

•Buckman: Mayor Robert Lochner, and Council Members Greg Gangl and Rick Herold filed for re-election. Linda Brezinka filed for the city treasurer seat, currently held by Esther Britz, who did not file.

•Elmdale: Mayor Raymond Kurowski and Clerk Joy Koroll filed for re-election. Steve Zimmerman filed for the seat currently held by John Kulla, who did not file.

•Flensburg: No one filed for the mayor’s seat, currently held by Scott Gardner. Incumbent LuAnn Morrow filed for re-election and Raymond Meyer and Rebecca Piekarski filed for the seats current held by Mike Zupko and Margurite Cofell;

•Genola: Mike Welle filed for the seat currently held by Tammy Giuliani and incumbent clerk Dolores Preimesberger filed for re-election.

•Harding: Incumbent Mayor Robert Litke and incumbent Treasurer Corey Hayes filed for re-election. Ronald Gross was the lone filer for two seats currently held Council Members Patrick J. Hayes and Ronald Gross, who did not refile.

•Hillman: No one filed for the seats currently held by Council Members Dana Iverson and Duane Bleichner and Treasurer Jackie Okroi.

•Lastrup: No one filed for the seats currently held by Mayor Andy Smude, who was appointed in 2012; Council Members Chad Thesing, Jackie Zehowski (appointed in 2012) and Clerk Roberta Gross.

•Little Falls: Incumbent Mayor Cathy VanRisseghem filed for re-election and will run against Robin Hensel and Greg Zylka. Incumbent Alderman at Large Brian-Paul K. Crowder filed for re-election and will be challenged by Brad Hircock, Urban Otremba and Tim Schmidt. Ward 1 incumbent Council Member LeeAnn Doucette filed for re-election and will be challenged by Leif Hanson. Ward 2 incumbent Council Member Donald Klinker filed for re-election as did and Ward 3 Council Member Jeremy Hanfler. Klinker will be challenged by Wayne Liljegren and Theresa Skorseth. Hanfler will run unopposed.

•Motley: Incumbent Mayor Nancy Nieken filed for re-election and will be challenged by Bob Follis. Incumbent Council Members Rob Sampson and Amy Hutchison filed for re-election and Al Yoder filed for one of the two seats.

•Pierz: Incumbent Mayor Toby Egan will be challenged by Dennis Kahlhamer. Incumbent Council Members Michael Menden and Stephanie Fyten and Treasurer Linda Sczublewski filed for re-election. Also filing for a Council seat were Mark Dzieweczynski and Rick Sczublewski.

•Randall: Incumbent Mayor Robert Riitters will be challenged by Jude Wolters. Incumbent Council Members Charley Andres,  Gerald Adamski and Danny Noss filed for re-election. Robert Lee also filed for a Council seat.

•Royalton: Incumbent Mayor Andrea Lauer will run unopposed. Incumbent Council Members Al Libke and Scott Walberg filed for re-election. Kelly Warzecha filed for a seat on the Council.

•Sobieski: Jerome Ringwelski filed to run against incumbent Council Member Barbara Krebs and Treasurer Janet Czech filed for re-election.

•Swanville: Incumbent Mayor Sandy Peterson will run unopposed. Incumbent  Council Member Jim Molitor filed for re-election and Jeremy Bartkowicz filed for a seat.

•Upsala: Incumbents Mayor Rollie Johnson and Council Members Joan Olson, Brian Lange and Dennis Westrich all filed for re-election.

Several townships moved their elections to November. Those who filed for those seats include:

•Hillman: Incumbent supervisors Harry M. McDonald, Tom Stangl and Loren Tomala filed for re-election.

•Morrill: Incumbent supervisors Ron Beack and Edward Kampa and incumbent Town Treasurer James Wyatt all filed for re-election. Sally Melby filed for the seat of town treasurer.

•Mount Morris: Incumbent supervisors Keith Carter and Jennifer Miller filed for re-election, as did incumbent Treasurer Tom Fenna. Gary Gotvald filed to run against Carter.

•Pierz: Incumbent supervisor Bob Virnig filed for re-election. William Athman filed for the supervisor seat currently held by Paul Tschida. No one filed for the treasurer seat currently held by Bernice Marshik.

•Pulaski: Incumbent Supervisor Leon Boser and incumbent Town Clerk Sharon Skwira filed for re-election.

•Richardson: Kent Larson filed for the supervisor Seat C and incumbent Treasurer Ronald Peterson filed for re-election. Incumbent Supervisor Mike Insley filed for re-election for Seat B. Supervisors Todd Gross and Mike Insley did not re-file.

•Rosing: No one filed for the supervisor seat currently held by Greg Ringler.

•Scandia Valley: Incumbents Supervisor Alan Card and Treasurer Sara Meier filed for re-election. Filers for other supervisor seats include Russell Eugene Neterval and Terry M. Sandstrom for Seat A and Mike Insley will run against Card.