Pohlkamp, Brinker awarded for football season success

By Tyler Ohmann
Sports Editor
[email protected]

Leo Pohlkamp, Pierz head football coach, was named the Minnesota Vikings 2014 High School Coach of the Year.
Pohlkamp led the Pioneers to a 12-1 record, and within a point of advancing to the Prep Bowl.
Pohlkamp was awarded at halftime of the Vikings/Panthers game, Nov. 30 at TCF Bank Stadium.
Nathan Brinker of Holdingford was also named to the Vikings High School All-State team. He was one of 30 that were named to the team.
Brinker was also named to the Associated Press All-State First-Team as a linebacker.

Pierz hands out team awards
After a 12-1 season, the Pierz Pioneers handed out team awards.
The two most improved players were junior Jonny Kasper and sophomore Brett Kapsner.
The Best Practice Player was Lukas Otte.
Ethan Lochner and Robbie Skiba, both seniors, were given the Leadership Award.
Skiba was also given the Most Valuable Player, the Hustle Award and Defensive Player of the Year.
Derrick Hall won the Coaches Award, while Beau Winscher was the Offensive Lineman of the Year. Defensive Lineman of the Year was Austin Gall.
Skiba, Lochner, Winscher and Dan Poegel were the four captains.