Hunting dates to remember this fall

  • Friday, Aug. 12: Bear baiting start date
  • Friday, Aug. 19: Prairie chicken hunt lottery deadline; Camp Ripley archery hunt application deadline
  • Thursday, Sept. 1: Hunting seasons open for bear, snipe and rail, mourning dove and crow
  • Saturday, Sept. 3: Early Canada goose season opens
  • Thursday, Sept. 8: Antlerless deer and special hunt lottery deadline
  • Saturday, Sept. 10: Youth Waterfowl Day; sandhill crane season opens in northwest zone
  • Saturday, Sept. 17: Archery deer season opens; small game season opens including for ruffed grouse, sharp-tailed grouse, spruce grouse, Hungarian partridge, rabbits and squirrels
  • Saturday, Sept. 24: Waterfowl season opens; hunting seasons open for woodcock and prairie chicken
  • Saturday, Sept. 24-Sunday, Sept. 25: Take a Kid Hunting Weekend
  • Saturday, Oct. 1: Fall turkey season opens
  • Saturday, Oct. 15: Pheasant season opens; hunting and trapping in north zone opens for raccoon, red fox, gray fox, badger and opossum
  • Thursday, Oct. 20-Friday, Oct. 21: First Camp Ripley archery deer hunt
  • Saturday, Oct. 22: Hunting and trapping in south zone opens for raccoon, red fox, gray fox, badger and opossum
  • Thursday, Oct. 20-Sunday, Oct. 23: Youth deer season
  • Saturday, Oct. 29-Sunday, Oct. 30: Second Camp Ripley archery hunt
  • Saturday, Oct. 29: Trapping seasons open for beaver, otter, mink and muskrat
  • Saturday, Nov. 5: Firearms deer opener